Society for Technical Communications Membership.. Yea or Neigh?

Hi Folks,

Hello! I am new here and look forward to learning from you and sharing my experience with the hope I can contribute in some small way.

I have been a Technical Writer with a Software Development Background for almost 20 years with such companies as IBM and Sony and currently for the last five years, I’ve been with the U.S. Department of Defense as a Technical Editor/Writer.

I first joined The Society for Technical Communications (STC.org) a couple of years back in order to access it’s professional development programs, and bolster my credentials. However, I have not yet renewed my membership for 2017 because I am struggling to see where it “adds value”.

I would love to read your opinions about STC.org, and look forward to any suggestions you have about how an STC membership has benefited you.

Very Respectfully,

William

So, full disclosure, I’m the faculty advisor of the student chapter at my University, but I’ll try to be as fair and balanced as I can.

What I tell the students is that, for them, membership can get them plugged into a professional network sooner, which can provide a lot of resources that can help make it easier for them to navigate their entry into the working world,

As an academic, it’s a place to publish and, as such, they have a good collection of recent literature on technical communication from professional and academic realms. Membership provides access to this resource.That would be a way to keep up on things (as the articles are pretty contemporary) while you’re between work.