Documenting API for microservices?

I’m new to API documentation, and I’ve been following the Write the Docs Slack channel for about two months now, reading everything I can get my hands on, and I attended the June WTD meetup in Boston. I’m a technical writer who has taken a couple of programming courses, but that was over ten years ago, so while I’m comfortable reading through code, I am by no means a programmer and I’m not really sure what’s needed here.

I’m trying to come up with a strategy for writing API docs for a microservices architecture. We’ve currently got over 200+ code repos in GitHub, with six main API areas with over 200 APIs to document. The developers have written some documentation in the GitHub wikis, but that’s not really for public consumption. Our microservices are written in several different programming languages (Java, Python, Ruby), which seems to make choosing tools a bit more challenging. I’d really like to work towards an automated solution, where we’re generating at least the Reference doc out of the code.

Is anyone else out there documenting microservices? Any tips or tricks as far as excellent examples of API doc I should look at, blog posts I should read, tool or toolsets I should consider? I’m sure someone else must have already solved these problems, and I’d hate to reinvent the wheel.

Apologies if I start with what might sound like nitpicking, but it looks as though you’re using the terms “API” and “microservice” somewhat interchangeably. Can you say a little more about the critter(s) you need to document? More API? More “microservice”? And if the latter, just what does your team mean by “microservice”? (It’s used to describe so many different approaches to decomposing a monolith …)

Have you got tooling or processes in place for creating/generating API descriptions? (Swagger, RAML, API Blueprint?)