Best Doc Management System?

Hi there,

I’m a Boston-based writer, tech writer, editor and writing coach helping one of my clients research the strongest Document Management System that fits their needs. It will be used for both a Knowledge Base and for strict access control and document change control. I would love to hear of any recommendations, warnings, experiences or otherwise with current DMS tools.

Thanks very much!

Can you say a little bit more about the type/size of organization and what kind of people comprise it? Some systems are much “geekier” than others and are geared more toward certain types of documents than others.

Hi there,

I apologize for the delay in responding. I was travelling for work and got behind on email. This was a startup - has now grown to approx. 150 employees. They would like a system that has excellent and flexible role and access assignment, version control, the ability to build customized workflows for email or other alerts when a key document changes the ability to create and manage a knowledge base and not high ongoing admin requirements.

Is that helpful? Thanks so much for helping me think about this.

This is related and I hope the right place to ask about the following issue. I am looking to use Confluence as a Doc management system for a KB to face our external clients, but one of the problems I am running into is our software is proprietary and we do not want the KB to be open to the public. (we already use confluence for our internal purposes and I think it would be easy to copy some pages to a new space)