API/Dev docs style guide(s)?

I know we’ve talked about style guides on other threads, but I’m in need of something more specific, namely a style guide/guides that specifically address API reference docs (ideally) or at least developer-facing docs more generally.

I’ve got my own list of recommendations, but I sure could use something that might be viewed as more authoritative, or at the very least representative of common usage.

thanks to anyone who can help –

Jennifer

Hello!

I will gladly share the style guide I am using here, keeping in mind it is 3-4 versions out of date and I’ve stripped out any sensitive information: Style Guide

I actually recently made a huge upgrade to our developer portal - the entire site is now generated from a few dozen RAML files using a RAML to markdown converter I spent 2 weeks writing in node.js (I was a web developer for 2 years).

Now instead of taking 30 minutes every time a new parameter is added to a resource, it takes 30 seconds to update!

Anyway, I was just a little excited because I saw this post and was excited to see someone else working on API documentation :smile:

• Melissa

Melissa! Thank you!

Another question for you: do you generate new doc from the RAML spec whenever there is a change?

(I ask because we are converting Swagger to Asciidoc, but we currently are undecided about where changes to descriptions go. Some on the team want to update the description field in the YAML, and some want changes to go only into the Asciidoc. Would love to hear your thoughts!

We are in the process of hooking up the generator to a build process (TeamCity) to generate the docs automatically, but right now it’s all manual - make a change, run generator.

I’ve actually never heard of Asciidoc! I did research blueprint/swagger/RAML before we chose RAML, but Asciidoc never came up.